ASEAN Ph.D. Fellowship Programme (APFP)


Union Education Minister virtually addressed the students from ASEAN member states who have been selected for the prestigious ASEAN Ph.D. Fellowship Programme (APFP).

ASEAN Ph.D. Fellowship Programme (APFP):

  • It was announced on 25th January 2018, the eve of India’s Republic Day, by the Prime Minister of India in the presence of leaders of all the ten ASEAN member states. 
  • Under the APFP, 1000 fellowships will be provided exclusively to the ASEAN citizens in IITs. 
  • APFP is the largest capacity development program undertaken by the Government of India for foreign beneficiaries.
  • The ASEAN Ph.D. fellows will be recognized as the alumni of the respective IITs from where they will be completing their PhDs.  
  • It is funded by the Government of India.


  • The academic and research ties among India and ASEAN member states will be mutually beneficial for both the regions. 
  • It will strengthen India’s ties with ASEAN members in culture, commerce, and connectivity. 
  • APFP will open many doors to synergies in the field of technology and research for the academicians, researchers, and scientists from India and ASEAN. 
  • The researches and inventions by them will be used for the betterment of humankind across the globe.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN):

  • It is a regional organization that was established to promote political and social stability amid rising tensions among the Asia-Pacific’s post-colonial states.
  • Motto: “One Vision, One Identity, One Community”.
  • 8th August is observed as ASEAN Day.
  • ASEAN Secretariat: Indonesia, Jakarta.
  • Founding members: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand.
  • It, now, also includes Vietnam, Brunei, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, and Laos, totaling to 10 members.
  • ASEAN’s six FTA partners are India, China, Japan, South Korea, Australia, and New Zealand.

Leave a Reply