Central Administrative Tribunal

Central Administrative Tribunal


Recently, the Union Minister of State for Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER) has inaugurated the 18th Bench of Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT) for the Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

About CAT

  • Part XIV-A of the constitution provides for the tribunals and this provision was added through 42nd Amendment Act, 1976.
  • Article 323A and 323B provide for Administrative Tribunals and Tribunals related to other matters respectively.
  • Under Article 323A, parliament is empowered to establish administrative tribunals for the adjudication of disputes and complaints with respect to recruitment and conditions of service of persons appointed to public services and posts in connection with the affairs of the union or of any state or of any local or other authority within the territory of India or under the control of the government of India or of any corporation owned or controlled by the government.
  • The Administrative Tribunals Act in 1985 enacted by the Parliament authorizes the central government to establish central administrative tribunal and the state administrative tribunals.
  • The CAT comprises of a chairman, vice- chairman and other members who are appointed by the President.
  • The term of the service is 5 years or until the age of 65 years for chairman and vice-chairmen and 62 years for members, whichever is earlier.
  • CAT is not bound by the procedure laid down in the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908, but is guided by the principles of natural justice.
  • A tribunal has the same powers as are vested in a civil court under the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908.

Leave a Reply